Driving with Children

 Definitions Reporting Abuse | StatisticsWhat is Abuse?

Driving With Children

It is estimated that 250,000 children are injured in vehicle accidents every year. This is due to a number of different factors, two of the most common being the child was not properly restrained in the correct seat and alcohol-related crashes. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), vehicle crashes are the leading cause of death in children ages 3 to 14 in the United States. On the other hand, in 2008 it was estimated that 8,959 lives were saved by child restraint seats. Alcohol-related deaths where children are in the vehicle of an impaired driver are 100% preventable. Although vehicle accidents are not 100% avoidable, this does say that the number of children hurt in these accidents every year could be greatly decreased by making sure your child has the proper restraints and by not drinking and driving.

(NHTSA, 2010), (National Center for Statistics and Analysis, 2008)

Wyoming Child Restraint Enforcement Guide:

Any child who has not reached his/her ninth birthday must properly secured in a child restraint seat.

Key Points
-Applies to ALL drivers.
-Applies to privately owned, leased or rented noncommercial passenger vehicles.
-Child must be secured in vehicle seat other than front seat except in vehicles with one row of seats or if all safety belts
are in use by other child passengers.
-Child must be properly secured in restraint and it must be properly installed, both as per manufacturer’s instructions.
-Restraint must conform to Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 213 for child restraint systems.
-Applies to residents and non-residents.
-Primary offense. Non-use or misuse are reasonable suspicion for stopping a vehilce to investigate a suspected violation.

Penalty
-Maximum $60.00 fine for first offense. Fine shall be waived by the court upon receipt of proof of purchase, lease, or
other acquisition of an approved restraint after the offense occurred.
-Maximum $110.00 fine for second and subsequent offenses.

Exemptions
-Child within age requirements if the lap and shouder belt fit properly across the collarbone, chest and hips of the child
and does not pose danger to the neck, face or abdominal area in crash or sudden stop.
-Physician’s signed statement, carried in the car, certifying that the child should not be secured in a child restraint
system.
-Vehicles that were not equipped with safety belts at time of manufacture. (Passenger vehicles before Model Year 1967/
Vans and trucks before Model Year 1972).
-Emergency, and law enforcement vehicles.
-School buses including private or church, used to transport children as well as buses or other vehicles, used for public
transportation manufactured without seat belts.
-The driver is rendering aid or assistance to the child, parent, or guardian.

For more information, visit Wyoming Dept. of Health’s website.

 

 

Do NOT Drink and Drive!

Not only will driving under the influence of alcohol or other illegal substances cost you money, time in jail, suspension of your driver’s license and many other legal inconveniences, but it could also cost you custody or the life of your child(ren). According to 2008 statistics, 47% of vehicle fatalities in Wyoming were alcohol-related (NHTSA, 2010). Dont let you or your children be one of these statistics. Don’t drink and drive and NEVER put a child in a vehicle where you or the driver has been drinking or using other illegal substances!